Kiel Conference 2015

Successful start of the inaugural Kiel Conference


More than 80 international guests joined the symposium, including participants from the United States, Turkey, Italy, Sweden, Estonia, Latvia, the United Kingdom, and Germany.

The inaugural Kiel Conference symposium dealt with a geographic area within the participants’ very sight: the Baltic Sea. The events in Ukraine that started in early 2014 served as a reminder that Europe’s peace may be more fragile than was assumed previously. Unfortunately, the Baltic Sea region is deeply affected by these developments, emphasizing the need for a thorough debate on maritime security.
 

Welcome-Speech

Audience

 

Three Panel Sessions

Three panels were held, two ofthem connected to the increased tensions in Eastern Europe and the role of the Baltic Sea region. The first panel dealt with naval forces’ role within the context of rising tensions in the area. These tensions have caused increasing anxiety in Baltic and Scandinavian neighbor states. The second discussion focused on sea mines, their utility in hybrid war scenarios, and resulting consequences for international shipping. The third panel dealt with the issue of naval disruptive technologies and their potential.

 

Invited Speakers

Peter Roberts      

Moreover, the first symposium hosted experts of global rank such as Peter Roberts, Senior Fellow for Sea Power and Maritime Security at the Royal United Service Institute (RUSI), the renowned naval historian Dr. Tim Benbow, and Swedish scholar Stefan Lundqvist, a specialist on Swedish-Finnish naval security cooperation working at Forsvarshögskolan in Stockholm.

 

Left: Peter Roberts

 

Further Information

The proceedings and documentation of Kiel Conference 2015 as well as documents of subsequent conferences are provided at Proceedings.

Please view our Conference Trailer on kielconference.com: Trailer Kiel Conference

Furthermore, if you are interested in updates on Kiel Conference, visit our website: http://www.kielconference.com/

Publication

Publication

  • ISPK's Sebastian Bruns is co-editor of "Maritime Security" (german title: Maritime Sicherheit). The volume extensively covers maritime issues in Strategic Studies, e.g. piracy, littoral warfare and naval doctrine development.

Publication

  • ISPK's Academic Director Joachim Krause is co-editor of "Afghanistan, Pakistan and Strategic Change". The volume covers strategic trends in the region and provides in-depth analysis of past and presents possibilities of western involvement in Afghanistan and the regional theater.

Publication

  • ISPK's Joachim Krause is co-editor of this volume about effective international cooperation. Contributors analyse and discuss possible future avenues of possible effective, multilateral cooperation between international organisations in different policy areas and regions.

Kiel Conference 2015

Erfolgreicher Start der Kiel Conference Reihe


An der Kiel Conference 2015 hatten mehr als 80 Teilnehmer aus einem Dutzend Nationen – darunter Italien, Schweden, der Türkei, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Lettland, Estland und den USA – teilgenommen.

Der Focus der Konferenz lag in dem Jahr auf dem Ostseeraum. Gerade in den Ostsee­anrainer­staaten wird darauf geschaut, wie in Deutschland maritime Sicherheit verstanden wird. Das diesjährige Programm bestand aus drei Diskussionsrunden, an denen zahlreiche renommierte Experten teilnahmen.
 

Grusswort

Audience

 

Drei Diskussionsrunden

Das Thema des ersten Abschnitts war die Rolle von Seestreitkräften vor dem Hintergrund der sich entwickelnden Drohkulisse im Ostseeraum, die vor allem in Skandinavien, dem Baltikum und in Polen Verunsicherung hervorgerufen hat. Die zweite Sektion widmete sich den Konsequenzen, denen sich die Schifffahrt u.a. durch Seeminen in hybriden Konfliktszenarien ausgesetzt sehen könnte. Der dritte Abschnitt befasste sich schließlich mit Chancen und Konfliktpotentialen, die sich durch disruptive Technologien im maritimen Bereich ergeben.

 

Eingeladene Fachleute

Peter Roberts      

Zu den eingeladenen Fachleuten gehörten Peter Roberts Senior Fellow for Sea Power and Maritime Security am Royal United Service Institute (RUSI) sowie der renommierte britische Marinehistoriker Dr. Tim Benbow. Auch der schwedische Wissenschaftler Stefan Lundqvist gehörte zu den Vortragenden: Er arbeitet in Stockholm an der Försvarshögskolan zu finnisch-schwedischen Kooperation in maritimen Sicherheitsfragen.

 

Links: Peter Roberts

 

Weitere Informationen

Die Fachzeitschrift Marineforum berichtete in der Ausgabe 9/2015 über die Kiel Conference.

Die Proceedings und Dokumentation zur Kiel Conference 2015 sowie zu allen weiteren Konferenzen finden Sie unter Konferenzbände/Proceedings.

Den Trailer zur Konferenz können Sie sich auf der Webseite der Kiel Conference ansehen: Zum Trailer

Aktuelle Informationen zur Kiel Conference finden Sie unter: http://www.kielconference.com/

Publikation

Publikation

  • Sebastian Bruns ist Mitherausgeber des Sammelbandes "Maritimer Sicherheit" im VS Verlag. Der Band beschäftigt sich ausführlich mit Problemen der Strategischen Wissenschaft, u.a. im Bereich der Piraterie, Marinestrategie und - entwicklung.

Publikation

  • Herausgeber sind ISPK-Direktor Professor Dr. Joachim Krause und Charles King Mallory, IV. Der Sammelband beschäftigt sich mit den strategischen Trends in der Region sowie den Möglichkeiten, Fehlern und Beschränkungen von Interventionen in Afghanistan.

Publikation

  • ISPK-Direktor Professor Dr. Joachim Krause ist Mitherausgeber dieses Bandes zur effektiven internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Die Autoren analysieren und diskutieren Möglichkeiten des effektiven, multilateralen Zusammenarbeitens internationaler Organisationen in verschiedenen Feldern und Regionen.