Kiel Conference - About

 

Kiel Conference is designed as an expert forum, which gathers international actors and analysts from the academic, naval, and maritime business communities as well as political decision makers. The goal is to foster and improve the dialogue on maritime security challenges between these stakeholders. Thus, open discussions on current maritime security and strategic issues are at the focus of this young and innovative conference. In 2015, coinciding with Kiel University’s 350th anniversary, the inaugural Kiel Conference took place.

The ISPK

The Institute for Security Policy (ISPK), as a research institute and think tank attached to Kiel University, is fully devoted to the University’s motto "Pax Optima Rerum" (Peace above all else). Unfortunately, recent geopolitical events made clear that peace since the end of Cold War peace today is presently morefragile than ever.

In this context, Germany assumes a special role on the international level as an arbiter of conflict prevention and crisis solution. The ISPK seeks to connect the annual Kiel Conference to this role and furthermore build on it.In the tradition of Kiel’s former mayor Andreas Gayk, who transformed Kiel Week after the devastation of World War II into a festival of international understanding and peace, we seek to reinvigorate the festival’s unique atmosphere of sailing, culture, and peaceful celebration with important political discussions and, thus, make Kiel Conference a part of the official Kiel Week program.

 

Panelsession

 

International Forum for Maritime Security Challenges

While the state of Schleswig-Holstein’s capital presents itself to the world as a German and European hub of openness during Kiel Week, we seek to add an international forum on the pressing issues of maritime security. If there is a place for these discussions, it’s Kiel, not least because of its location on the shore of the Baltic Sea.

 

Audience

 

Cooperation with COE CSW

Kiel Conference is organized in close cooperation with the civil and military experts from the Centre of Excellence for Operations in Confined and Shallow Waters (COE CSW) located at Kiel naval base. Thus, Kiel Conference provides new stimuli for international cooperation and dialog and helpstackling(maritime) security challenges of our time. In addition, the Conference improves Kiel’s profile as alocation of excellent exchange and research on maritime security.

Further Information

For further information, please visit us on our Website:
http://www.kielconference.com/

Organization on part of ISPK:

Foto Adrian Neumann      Foto Sebastian Bruns
Email: Adrian Neumann      Email: Dr. Sebastian Bruns
Publication

Publication

  • ISPK's Sebastian Bruns is co-editor of "Maritime Security" (german title: Maritime Sicherheit). The volume extensively covers maritime issues in Strategic Studies, e.g. piracy, littoral warfare and naval doctrine development.

Publication

  • ISPK's Academic Director Joachim Krause is co-editor of "Afghanistan, Pakistan and Strategic Change". The volume covers strategic trends in the region and provides in-depth analysis of past and presents possibilities of western involvement in Afghanistan and the regional theater.

Publication

  • ISPK's Joachim Krause is co-editor of this volume about effective international cooperation. Contributors analyse and discuss possible future avenues of possible effective, multilateral cooperation between international organisations in different policy areas and regions.

Kiel Conference - Konzept

 

Bei der Kiel Conference handelt es sich um eine Fachkonferenz, an der Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Marine, Politik sowie der maritimen Wirtschaft teilnehmen. Der Dialog über die maritime Sicherheit steht im Zentrum des neuen Konferenzformats. Die Kiel Conference fand 2015, im Jahr des 350-jährigen Bestehens der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, erstmalig statt.

Das ISPK

Das Institut für Sicherheitspolitik (ISPK) als „An-Institut“ der Universität ist dem Leitgedanken der Hochschule „Pax Optima Rerum“, zu Deutsch „Der Frieden ist das wichtigste Gut“, zutiefst verpflichtet. Die außenpolitischen Ereignisse der vergangenen Jahre haben leider deutlich gemacht, dass der Frieden heute so bedroht ist wie seit Ende des Kalten Krieges nicht mehr. 

Der Bundesrepublik Deutschland kommt hier eine besondere Verantwortung bei der Konfliktverhütung zu. Das ISPK will mit der Kiel Conference hieran anknüpfen. Im Geiste des ehemaligen Oberbürgermeisters Andreas Gayk, der nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg aus der Kieler Woche ein Fest der Völkerverständigung und des Friedens geformt hat, wollen wir die Idee der einzigartigen Verbindung von Segelsport, kulturellen Veranstaltungen und fröhlichen Festen mit wichtigen politischen Diskussionen neu beleben.

 

Panelsession

 

Internationale Beteiligung bei maritimen Sicherheitsfragen

Die Kiel Conference bereichert auch das traditionell maritime und international dominierte Flair der Kieler Woche. Sie unterstreicht die Weltoffenheit der Landeshauptstadt Kiel, die insbesondere während der Kieler Woche für alle Welt sichtbar ist. Wenn es einen Ort gibt, in dem es einen internationalen Dialog über maritime Sicherheitsfragen geben sollte, dann ist es Kiel.

 

Publikum

 

Kooperation mit COE CSW

Die Tagung wird durchgeführt in Kooperation mit den zivilen und militärischen Experten des Centre of Excellence for Operations in Confined and Shallow Waters (COE CSW), welches im Kieler Marinestützpunkt beheimatet ist. Von Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein und der Bundesrepublik können so neue Impulse für internationale Kooperation und Dialog für die Bewältigung maritimer, sicherheitspolitischer Herausforderungen ausgehen. Die Tagung wird den Standort Kiel als Ort exzellenter Arbeit zu Themen der Seesicherheit weiter stärken.

Weitere Informationen

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Internetseite:  http://www.kielconference.com/

Leitung der Konferenzorganisation seitens ISPK

Foto Adrian Neumann      Foto Sebastian Bruns
Mailkontakt: Adrian Neumann      Mailkontakt: Dr. Sebastian Bruns
Publikation

Publikation

  • Sebastian Bruns ist Mitherausgeber des Sammelbandes "Maritimer Sicherheit" im VS Verlag. Der Band beschäftigt sich ausführlich mit Problemen der Strategischen Wissenschaft, u.a. im Bereich der Piraterie, Marinestrategie und - entwicklung.

Publikation

  • Herausgeber sind ISPK-Direktor Professor Dr. Joachim Krause und Charles King Mallory, IV. Der Sammelband beschäftigt sich mit den strategischen Trends in der Region sowie den Möglichkeiten, Fehlern und Beschränkungen von Interventionen in Afghanistan.

Publikation

  • ISPK-Direktor Professor Dr. Joachim Krause ist Mitherausgeber dieses Bandes zur effektiven internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Die Autoren analysieren und diskutieren Möglichkeiten des effektiven, multilateralen Zusammenarbeitens internationaler Organisationen in verschiedenen Feldern und Regionen.